ASPAC – Mori Prize

Esterline Biography |     Past Prize Winners |   Application Process

At the 1992 meeting of ASPAC at Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, the ASPAC Board voted to establish the John and Mae Esterline Prize to encourage student participation at ASPAC Meetings and to recognize the support given to students by our colleagues John and Mae Esterline. The scholarship program was begun with a donation by John and Mae.  The name of the award was changed to ASPAC-Esterline. The name was changed again to the ASPAC – Mori Prize in June 2014, in honor of Professor Barbara Mori of Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, a long-time ASPAC member and dedicated advocate for Asian Studies, including in musicology, her area of expertise. She passed away in 2013, leaving a donation to be used to support this graduate student prize.

Through the ASPAC-Mori Prize, ASPAC recognizes extraordinary graduate student scholarship. It is open to all students pursuing graduate studies in any discipline, at any American university and in any area of research pertaining to Asian Studies. Awards are given at the conference banquet.

Currently the total award available is $300.  $300 is awarded to the best paper, but if there are two papers of equal quality, the award may be split equally between the two authors.  You do not have to be attending a university in the ASPAC area to be eligible but you must attend the annual ASPAC conference and present your paper to receive the award. The winning paper will be nominated to AAS for presentation at its annual conference in the following spring. If accepted, AAS will provide the author with partial support to attend the AAS conference.

ALL graduate student proposals MUST include a cover letter from the supervising professor commending the paper to ASPAC. Graduate students wishing to apply for the ASPAC-Mori Prize should additionally e-mail their complete paper to Dr. Tsuneo Akaha <>. Papers are only accepted as a Microsoft Word document and should be between 15-20 pages in regular academic format. Powerpoint, slide, and other formats are not accepted.

Application deadline: First deadline – April 5, 2015; *Final deadline – May 5, 2015

*Papers received by the First dealine will be given priority.